NaNoWrimo Week 1 Wrap-Up!

Well, it’s November…which means that it’s time for NaNoWriMo!

For those of you who don’t know, NaNoWriMo is a non-profit organization that challenges you to write a 50,000-word novel by the end of the month.

Crazy, right? 

Maybe. Regardless, I’m still going to give it a go!

I know that there are a ton of other people doing it this year, as well.
If you’re doing it, I’d love to hear about your writing process and your progress! Part of the reason that I’m sharing mine online is to connect with other people who are also participating.

Without further ado, here’s what happened in my writing world, this week.

Day One

NaNo started off with a bang…at the beginning of the week, at least. By the end of day one, I had a whopping 4,000 words.

Overachiever? I wish…in reality, I went into this with about 2,000-ish words…so achieving the word count for day one was no hassle.

Words Written Today: 2,000 (give or take)
Total Word Count: 4,000

img_1797

Day Two

For day two, I wrote pretty much all day. Not only did I need to hit the word count for the day, but I had to work on a paper for one of my classes.

Sadly, though, the paper took precedence, and I only managed to churn out a pathetic 441 words. Yikes.

Words Written Today: 410
Total Word Count: 4,410

Day Three

Just as bad, if not worse, than day 2. I spent most of the day editing what I had just written instead of continuing on with the story. My editing was worthwhile, in the long run, but for the NaNoWriMo challenge the only thing that matters is word count…and in that aspect, day three did nothing for me.

Words Written Today: 0
Total Word Count: 4,410

img_1869

Day Four

My word count finally made a comeback on day four.
*praise hands*
I ducked into a (poorly lit) study room in my residence hall and managed to churn out another daily word limit, and back on track to reach 50,000 the end of the month!

Today was the first day out of this week that I opened up my Pinterest for inspiration. I know, I know, Pinterest is usually for crafts and DIY projects, but it’s also a great way to create inspiration boards for your characters and novels.

Words Written Today: 2,434
Total Word Count: 6,844

img_1854

Day Five-Day Seven

The rest of the week wasn’t the best…in fact, it was pretty crappy. School was beginning to be very stressful, and my desire to write anything kind of flew out the window.

Stress from school was starting to eat away at me, and my desire to write anything kind of flew out the window.

I did write just a few little snippets but didn’t care for them enough to tally them into the total word count.
This weekend put me in a word-count pit that I’m going to have to pull myself out of next week (before I head off for Yallfest, that is!)

Words Written Today: 0
Total Word Count: 6,844


Thank you for reading this blog post!
Stay tuned for weekly NaNoWriMo updates throughout the rest of the month!

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo? Let’s be writing buddies! Comment your username below!

3 thoughts on “NaNoWrimo Week 1 Wrap-Up!

Leave a Reply

