Yallfest 2016!

Yallfest happened…and it was absolutely amazing.

If you’ve never been to Yallfest I would highly recommend it and if you’ve never heard of Yallfest, here’s a link to their website!

Yallfest is book related, so I decided that making a blog post about it would be a great way to document my Yallfest adventures!

I was so happy to be able to attend this year, especially with my dad. He’s also an author and reader, so it was a lot of fun to have him tag along and explore Yallfest with me.

Without further ado, here’s the first of my two Yallfest blog posts!

IMG_2096-001.jpg

The first thing I did when I got to Yallfest was meet Carrie Ryan.

The signing was at The Best Friend of Charleston museum, a small little building in downtown Charleston.

I’ve loved Carrie’s The Forest of Hands and Teeth series for as long as I can remember. It was one of the first, if not the first, book series that I ever read and tried to force all of my friends to read. It’s also, hands down, my favorite zombie series I’ve ever read.

Okay, enough gushing about the novels.
Carrie herself was such a nice person! I was nervous about meeting her, and this was my first book signing experience…but honestly, the whole thing was so great. She was ridiculously nice, and it was so awesome to talk to her and have my books signed.

After Carrie’s signing, we had some time to kill. I took some touristy pictures…

…and we got some grub at Closed For Business, an awesome and eccentric bar just a block or two away from all the action.

Next thing we did was hop in line for another signing.
There weren’t really any authors that I had read that were having signings at this time, so I hopped in the line for Robert Beatty’s Seraphina and the Black Cloak. 

The signing was at Blue Bicycle Books, a tiny bookstore. Renee Ahdieh was also signing in the bookstore, so the line to get in was cramped and crazy.

IMG_2225-001.jpg

I didn’t get my picture taken with Robert, but I did get a signature. I’ve heard so many great things about Seraphina and the Black Cloak and the fact that Robert is writing about the Biltmore Estate really makes me excited to read the novel.

After Robert Beatty’s signing, we had some more time to kill before we headed over to the next event.
I spent most of the time perusing the thousands of tents to get some free bookish goodies. And oh boy…did I get a lot (blog post about that coming tomorrow!)

Yallfest also had an adult ice cream truck at their event. Alcoholic ice cream…I’ll definitely be trying that next year.

The next thing we did was go to the Dark Fantasy panel. Dark fantasy is my favorite genre, and the one that I’m currently writing, so I was eager to hear what these successful authors had to say about it.

The authors that spoke were Kendare Blake, Jay Kristoff, Maggie Stiefvater, Sabaa Tahir, and Jonathon Stroud, with Aprilynne Pike moderating the panel!
I’ve never actually read anything by any of these authors, minus Sabaa, but they’re all authors that have been on my TBR list for a while now.

Listening to them speak was really interesting and insightful and got me even more excited about the novel I’m writing, as well as reading their novels.

We finished up the activities by meeting up with some friends and family who were also in town for the weekend! 


I know this isn’t an Oscar speech, but I do have some thank-you’s that I would like to hand out. A lot of people went out of their way to help me be able to attend Yallfest, and even though I’ve already thanked you…I’m doing it again.

Thank you!

Thank you to you, too, for reading the first of my two Yallfest posts!

Tomorrow is my Yallfest haul post, so stay tuned for that!

 

5 thoughts on “Yallfest 2016!

Leave a Reply

