(Some) Books I’m Thankful For

Happy Thanksgiving, everybody!

For those of us who celebrate, Thanksgiving is only one day away. That means tons of food, family time, and for those of us who are students, a school break.

It’s one of my favorite holidays, and even though there might not be enough time for me to read anything, I wanted to share the feeling of thankfulness to all of you guys through a quick blog post in a simple list format.

These are in no particular order, but each one has made an impact in my life, in one way or another.

** Edit: I tried a new format with this post, so the pictures and words might not allign perfectly. I’m not entirely sure how to fix this, so please overlook it for just this post. Thank you!**

prisoner_of_azkaban_cover1. Harry Potter by JK Rowling

If you thought that Harry Potter wouldn’t make it on this list…then you must not know me at all. I’m one of those die-hard HP fans that continues annoying you with Facebook posts and assumes everybody is as in-tuned with their Hogwarts House as I am. (#Hufflepuff)

For this series, I have to specifically be thankful for The Prisoner of Azkaban. It’s my favorite of the entire series, and the one where I can first see our characters, as well as the storyline, begin to transition into a much darker and deeper storyline.


url2. The Silver Crown by Robert C. O’Brien

This is one of my favorite books from my childhood.
Every year around Christmas, I always try to find the time to sit down and read a good chunk of this book, if not the whole thing.
It’s one of those books that I remember that I love, but always forget the plot of it. What I can remember, though, is getting it at one of the book fairs that used to come to my school and sell novels to kids…aka the best part about elementary school.


113884293. When the Sea is Rising Red by Cat Hellisen

This novel kick-started my burning desire to write dark fantasy. I purchased this book forever ago and finally got around to reading it a year or two ago. It’s seriously drool-worthy. The storyline is a perfect mix of dark and creepy, with all of the best elements of a fantasy novel thrown into the mix. Felicita, our main character, is such a great one. You connect with her from the very beginning of the novel.

I don’t hear many people talk too much about this novel, and I don’t really know why. It’s amazing.


z4. Solanin by Asano Inio

This is hands down, my favorite standalone manga I’ve ever read. (For those of you who don’t know what manga is, it is a style of Japanese comic books and graphic novels.)

Solanin is a slice of life novel that follows Meiko and her boyfriend Taneda and how they handle being thrown into a society they don’t quite know how to navigate.
There’s romance, tragedy, and lots of music. It’s a manga that I would highly recommend.


you-deserve-a-drink-cover5. You Deserve a Drink by Mamrie Hart

Mamrie Hart is one of the funniest human beings alive…in my opinion, at least. Every time I watch one of her YouTube videos I crack up…and her book is just as great.

It’s a collection of personal and hilarious stories paired with mixed drink recipes. The combination of cookbook and comedy is such a great idea, and all of the stories cracked me up endlessly. Also, she’s a North Carolina native, so it’s nice to hear some of her stories take place in areas I know so well.


the_forest_of_hands_and_teeth_pb_cover6. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

If you were friends with me in late middle school and early high school…you definitely heard me talk about this book series. I was obsessed.
This was the first zombie series I ever read, and I fell in love with the writing style and the emotions inside of the text. If you’re thinking of reading this I will warn you that it’s dark but in all the right ways. (As a zombie novel should be.)
I was lucky enough to get this book signed at Yallfest this year, too…which was absolutely amazing.


missperegrinecover

7. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

This trilogy is one of my all time favorites. Ransom Riggs is such a great author, and the world he built up in these novels is one that’s both beautiful and haunting.

I read the first in this series right after it came out, and got my brother to read it shortly afterward. We became the same level of obsessed, and both read the last two books in the series. Library of Souls, the last book in the trilogy, was the first book I ever pre-ordered.


 

saga-18. Saga by Brian K. Vaughan with art by Fiona Staples

The first and only graphic novel on my list is Saga, a comic book series turned graphic novel bind-up that chronicles the lives and adventures of two star-crossed lovers from two warring planets and their daughter.
Everything about this series is perfection; the art, the characters, and the storyline included.
This series also has the cutest of all characters…Ghüs. I’m obsessed with him.


514hikoe-jl-_sy344_bo1204203200_9. It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

One of my favorite things I’ve heard said about this novel is that it’s a story about depression that’s not at all depressing. Nothing could be truer.
This story follows Craig Gilner on his journey with depression. Ned Vizzini also suffered from depression, and this story is slightly based on his own experiences with the illness.
The way this novel is written is, as I said before, not at all depressing. It’s filled with humor and smartly written, making it a fun read about a hard topic.


bizenghast_v110. Bizenghast by M. Alice Legrow

Yet another manga, and another series I started in the later part of middle school. Bizenghast is one of my favorite series ever. It’s one of the most unusual stories I’ve ever read, and the art style and the characters are both absolutely wonderful, strange and creative.
I love this series so much, and the first time I read it, it sparked an obsession in me. This is one of the first things I ever truly fangirled over. I even named my cat after the main character, Dinah.


Thank you for reading this quick little post!

Happy Thanksgiving to those of you who celebrate, and to those of you who do not happy Thursday!

3 thoughts on “(Some) Books I’m Thankful For

Leave a Reply

