This Year in Books + Top 6 Books of 2016!

2016 is finally drawing to a close.

So many things happened this year…we lost so many legends (even within these past few days) and had a chaotic whirlwind of an election (to put it lightly).

Don’t worry: this post is not about any of that. 

Instead of dwelling on the bad of this year, let’s take a minute to appreciate something we’re all thankful of. For me, that involves thinking back on all of the books I’ve read.

Sadly, I didn’t get around to reading a lot of books this year.

School got in the way, and I went through a major reading slump this fall.
I did, however, manage to finish my Goodreads goal of 20 books, which makes me feel a little more accomplished.

screen-shot-2016-12-29-at-4-43-38-pm

I also read a lot of different types of books.

I’ve always been a fan of graphic novels, and read quite a few of those this year. I also read a handful of plays, thanks to my Shakespeare class this past semester.

As for genre, I started off the year by reading some horror novels, and during the summer I ended up reading a couple of contemporary novels (the one type of novel I very rarely read.)

I also read my very first Advanced Reader Copy…

…which made me feel super official and super lucky. I got so many ARC’s at Yallfest, which was such a blast.

Plus I got it at Yallfest! I cannot stop gushing about how much fun I had at that event.

I won’t start talking about that, though, or else we’ll be here for hours. (You can read about my adventures there by clicking here & here, though.)


Without further ado, let’s get into the top 6 books I read in 2016.

IMG_0013-002.jpg

6. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Starting off this list with a contemporary. I decided to give this a read because of the commercials for the movie. They drew me in, for whatever reason, and so I chose to read this book during my beach vacation this summer.

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars.

IMG_9423

5. Sanctum by Madeleine Roux

The first two books I read this year were the last two books in the Asylum series by Madeleine Roux. Sanctum, the second in the series, was my favorite out of the two, and likely my favorite out of the whole series.

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars

img_0005-001

4. The Cursed Child by John Tiffany and Jack Thorne, based on a story by J.K Rowling

There were so many new Harry Potter things that came out this year, and this was the first one to make waves. I know there were a lot of mixed feelings and lots of backlash that came with the publication of this script, but I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was it the best thing? Of course not.
Was is a nice way to jump back into the series? Yes.

I gave this script 4 out of 5 stars

IMG_0015-001.jpg

3. The Beginning of Everything by Robyn Schneider

Yet another contemporary novel! This book definitely took me by complete and total surprise.
I randomly picked this book up and read it on a whim and fell in love with the characters so quickly. Every character was unbelievably well-rounded, and Ezra Faulkner is officially my new book boyfriend.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars

IMG_0008-002.jpg

2. Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

The only graphic novel to make it onto my list, Saga is one of those books that makes you become completely obsessed. The world-building is out of this world (both literally and figuratively) and every single character was memorable and completely unique.

If you haven’t read this series, please do! (The only thing I will warn about is that some content is graphic and adult in nature.)

I gave this graphic novel 5 out of 5 stars

IMG_0007-001.jpg

1. Frogkisser by Garth Nix

Here it is… my favorite book of this year!

I am still on a reading hangover from this book. I wish that there were sequels coming out, because I don’t want to have to go without reading about these characters.

I have a full review of this book coming out soon, but I will say this: if you are looking for a fairy tale that values friendship and doing what is right, I would highly recommend this book to everyone, no matter the age of the reader.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars


As always,

Screen Shot 2016-12-19 at 9.31.42 PM.png

so much for reading! Don’t forget to like and share with the bookworms in your life!

3 thoughts on “This Year in Books + Top 6 Books of 2016!

Leave a Reply

