Jay Asher’s “What Light” || SPOILER FREE Book Review

Even though it’s well into January, I have a Christmassy book review for you guys!

(Part of me still wishes it was Christmas, so this book helped feed that fantasy)

Jay Asher’s What Light is contemporary novel following Sierra, a high school senior, as she travels from her Christmas tree farm in Oregon to her Christmas tree lot down in California.
There she meets Caleb, a local boy with an interesting reputation.

Going off of that synopsis, I have my first point.

I was thoroughly impressed by the different types of conflicts presented in this novel.

Obviously, there is a romantic conflict between Sierra and Caleb, but if you’re like me then you need more than a romance-driven story arch to find a novel interesting.Luckily, Jay Asher did a great job of adding in multiple different layers of conflict.

Luckily, Jay Asher did a great job of adding in multiple different layers of conflict.

Some of the other points of conflict within the story include the potential loss of the Christmas tree lot, the drama that comes with Caleb’s past, having long distance friends, and the idea of falling in love on a time limit.

Another thing that I really liked about this novel was the way it was written.

This was my first experience reading a novel by Jay Asher, and I really loved this style of writing. It was an easy breezy read, but the words still managed to get their meaning across without being overly complex.

I was also very impressed with the fact that Asher wrote from a female’s perspective. As a woman, I really thought he did a great job. He didn’t use the opportunity to touch on controversial subjects and didn’t use it to interject his own opinions, which I really appreciated. He also managed to create an enjoyable and believable female lead, and in-turn, an enjoyable and believable point of view.

3-out-of-5-stars.png

Overall, I gave this story a 3 out of 5 stars.

I really enjoyed the content of the novel, as well as the varying problems that were presented to Sierra throughout the story, but in the end, I never really got too attached to the novel. Another factor is that I found some parts of the novel to be much slower than they should have been. The pacing did pick up toward the end, though, which helped me enjoy the novel a bit more.

I am glad that I picked it up, though, and I’m really glad that I can finally say I’ve read a novel by Jay Asher. I will probably pick up some of his other novels, too, and keep an eye out for any new releases in the future.


As always, thank you so much for reading!

If you enjoyed this review, please like, comment and share.
If you’ve read What Light let me know what you thought down below!

4 thoughts on “Jay Asher’s “What Light” || SPOILER FREE Book Review

  1. Chesney says:

    Thank goodness for the author’s avoidance of controversial subjects. We’ve had about all the controversy we can take these days, and an escape is most welcome. Thanks for the insightful review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

